Positions and Practice – Week 12

Audience and Proposal in practice

Watching and listening to the conversation between tutor Jesse Alexander and photographer Marc Wilson – marcwilson.co.uk/albums – has been very insightful.

Much of how Marc spoke about his work resonated with how I feel about my own. His thoughts on how a book provides people with an opportunity to gain a deeper connection to his images as opposed to a visit to an exhibition of his work has provided me with an idea for my own project.

For me, the connections to time and human impact on our environment, and the fragility and power of our species and planet will be reflected in my work using fragile, gentle processes from which images need care take of them to survive. My aim for my work is to produce a showcase situated in a natural environment where visitors can take away a piece of the work – a means to spread the message that “once its gone, its gone”. But perhaps I need to think about the potential for a book – it could be the permanent keepsake for the work. More thinking to do around this element of my project but a great inspiration.

With my love of wide open, and often desolate places, I was drawn to Wilson’s Last Stand. Depicting remnants of the Second World War along the coastline of Northern European countries, it is both evocative and chilling. It even reminded me of some of my own work taken on the coast of France. One hangs in my bathroom, and focuses on a Portuguese Man O’ War  in the foreground of a what I presume is an old bunker. Below is a rather poor quality mobile snap of it in situ. I’m not actually comparing that to the quality of Wilson’s work but just using as a guide to how I feel a connection to this particular body of work.

francebeach

Learning that his A Wounded Landscape is ultimately going to be an educational archive has also been fascinating. How he is going about sourcing funding to ensure he can achieve his aims is encouraging. It may seem as if what you want to do is a mammoth task, but with perseverance it is possible to make things happen.

Wilson’s comments about the “power of the print” also struck a chord with me. I have always felt the need for some form of tactile connection to a photograph. I still love to order prints or download my Facebook photos onto instant film – mind you, with my research into environmental impacts I may not being doing that quite so much.

I have made copious notes and ideas from this interview; all fuel for the fire. I will be looking further into these thoughts in the weeks over the Christmas break as a means to steer some of my own proposal plans.

 

 

Leave a Reply

